General Studies Faculty

The South College General Studies faculty members are dedicated to assisting students through instruction and guidance throughout their courses. The General Studies Department's main office is in room 221 at the Main Campus, 3904 Lonas Drive, Knoxville, TN, 37909.

Full-time Faculty

Dr.  Jodi Rightler-McDaniels, Ph.D., General Studies Department Chair, Communication and Information, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1890jrightler@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Jessica Abernathy, M.A., English, Auburn University, 865-251-1847, jabernathy@southcollegetn.edu 

Ms. Barbara Gay Dunlap  M.Ed., Mathematics Coordinator;  Mathematics, Clemson University, 865-251-1897, gdunlap@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Robin Evans, M.S., Social Science Education, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1891, revans@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Michael Finley, M.S., Applied Mathematics, University of Illinois at Chicago, 865-293-4594, mfinley@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Norman Hammitt, M.S., Communications, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1859, nhammitt@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Renee Harold, M.A., Psychology, Child Study, Tufts University, 865-251-1893, rharold@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Caroline Malone, M.F.A., Writing, Bennington College, Writing Lab Associate Coordinator,  865-251-1896, cmalone@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Julia Watts, M.F.A., Writing, Spalding University, Writing Lab Coordinator;  865-251-1892, jwatts@southcollegetn.edu

 

General Studies Adjunct Instructors

Dr. Patricia Bailey, Ph.D., Mathematics Education, University of Tennessee; M.S.S.W., Social Work, 865-293-4562pbailey@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Stephenie Brown, M.S., Mathematics, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1894, sbrown3@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Xin Chen, Ph.D., Psychology, University of Connecticut, 865-293-4526, xchen@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Carol Guthrie, J.D., University of Tennessee; Ph.D., History, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4579, cguthrie@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Larry Daniels, Ed.S., Math Education, University of Tennessee, M.S. Math Education, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1845,Ldaniels1@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Whitney Jones, Ph.D., English Literature, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1868, wjones@southcollegetn.edu 

Mr. Noel Landrum, M.A., Political Science, University of Tennessee, and M.E., Educational Psychology, Miami University, 865-251-1869,nlandrum@southcollegetn.edu 

Dr. Peter Lemiszki, Ph.D., Geology, University of Tennessee; M.S., Geophysics, 865-293-4591, plemiszki@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Billy Roberts, M.S., Communication and Information, University of Tennessee, M.B.A., University of Tennessee, 865-293-4525, broberts@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Maegen Rochner, M.S., Geography, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4578, mrochner@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. Adrian Rodriguez, Ph.D., Counseling Psychology, University of Tennessee, 865-251-1858, arodriguez@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Rebecca Rowe, M. A., Music, Samford University, 865-293-4582, rrowe@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Gary Taylor, B.S., Psychology, University of South Carolina, 865-251-1820, gtaylor@southcollegetn.edu

Ms. Ruth Valle, M. S., Language Education, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4592, rvalle@southcollegetn.edu

Mr. Mark Wankel, M.F.A., Art, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4581, mwankel@southcollegetn.edu

Dr. (Janet) Carole Witt, Ph.D., Applied Educational Psychology, University of Tennessee; M.S., Curriculum and Instruction, University of Tennessee, 865-293-4580, cwitt@southcollegetn.edu